SSIA Annual General Meeting

Date: 3rd December 2018      Venue: Hotel Fort Canning


Singapore Semiconductor Industry Association (SSIA) held its Annual General Meeting for 2018 with two important agendas.

This year the Singapore Semiconductor Industry Association (SSIA) Annual General Meeting (AGM) had 2 important agendas: the support for the new constitution and the election of new Board Members for term 2019-2020.

On Dec 3 rd 2018, the event successfully commenced with more than 70 members present, at Hotel Fort Canning. A conscientious support was achieved with senior leaders taking over the Board with an amended constitution, paving way for an exciting term ahead.

The 2017-2018 EXCO comprising of President, Mr CK Tan, Secretary Dr Lai Weng Hong, Treasurer Mr Sunil Agarwal including other board members stepped down to make way for the new Board. Mr Andrew Chong, advisor to the Board of Infineon Technologies Asia Pacific, now chairs as the new Board for SSIA. Mr K C Ang, currently the Senior Vice President and General Manager of GLOBALFOUNDRIES Singapore and Europe, takes over as the Vice Chairman. Other industry leaders elected as office bearers to the SSIA Board includes Mr Jerome Tjia, who will continue with his contribution to the SSIA Board as the Honorary Secretary and Mr Brian Tan as the Treasurer. Jerome heads the Development Centre of Infineon Technologies, while Brian is the Regional President of Applied Materials (SEA).

Two female industry leaders will be joining as board members this time; Miss Chen Seok Ching, Vice President and General Manager of Marvell Technology and Miss Jennifer Teong, Manufacturing Vice President of Silicon Labs International. Mr Rajan Rajgopal, President and General Manager of DenseLight Semiconductors was also elected into the new Board, representing SMEs.

The new Board is expected to drive forward SSIA transformation in alignment with the Electronics industry transformation map (ITM), model to push the limits of innovation and growth for the industry.